top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture karin fendick

Don't go barefoot


It seems to be the season....

A few weeks ago I saw a tiny scorpion (by tiny I mean about 1/2 inch) in my toilet area which I promptly smashed with my shoe, then called Rick to confirm what I had seen. "My very first scorpion" I said. "Glad it was small."


In the last two nights we have encountered 3 full grown black scorpions. Each was about 4 -5 inches long (not counting the tail). These things are REAL!! The picture above was the morning after Rick had dropped a brick on it, killing it, and ants had already been feasting on it.


Yes, the stings are venomous, and though usually not fatal to a healthy adult we are told you will often wish for death instead of suffering the pain and illness to follow.


We will not walk without shoes at night, always use a flashlight, and keep our eyes open.


Wonder if we will meet number 4 tonight?

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page